New 2019 Laws

Here’s a summary of the new laws that have been passed this year. Some of them still waiting for Governor Newsom’s signature.

AB 1482 by Assembly Member Chiu

Rent Increases: Cap of 5% + cost of living or 10%, whichever is the lower of the gross rental rate, over the course of any 12-month period. AB 1482 includes Just Cause and No Fault Evictions. It does not include single-family homes or condos owned by individuals.

SB 330 by Sen Nancy Skinner

The California Legislature has approved Senate Bill 330, the Housing Crisis Act of 2019. SB 330 will accelerate housing construction in California by cutting the time it takes to obtain building permits, limiting fees on housing, and barring local governments from reducing the number of homes that can be built.

SB 234 by Sen Nancy Skinner

Gov. Gavin Newsom signed into law Senate Bill 234, the “Keeping Kids Close to Home Act”.  The new law will expand childcare opportunities for California families and reduce costs and red tape for home childcare providers statewide. Large family daycare homes that provide care to up to 14 children will receive the same exemptions under local neighborhood zoning and permitting laws that small family daycare homes now enjoy.

AB 1188 by Assembly Member Gabriel

This bill would authorize a tenant to temporarily permit the occupancy of their dwelling unit by a person who is at risk of homelessness, regardless of the terms of the lease or rental agreement. The tenant would need written approval of the owner or landlord of the property, which could be subject to extension under certain circumstances.

SB 329 by Senator Mitchell

This bill clarifies source of income discrimination to include verifiable income paid directly to tenant, or paid to a housing owner or landlord on behalf of a tenant. Verifiable income would include, but not limited to, federal housing assistance vouchers issued under Section 8.

SB 644 by Senator Glazer

Security deposits requested of service members residing in a property will now be limited to an amount equal to one months’ rent, in the case of unfurnished residential property. In the case of furnished residential property the deposit is limited to an amount equal to 2 months’ rent. This does not apply to a situation in which the property is rented to a group of individuals, one or more of whom is not the service member’s spouse, parent, domestic partner, or dependent.

AB 1110 by Assembly Member Friedman

This bill would require 90 days’ notice if a landlord of a residential dwelling with a month-to-month tenancy increases the rent by more than 10% of the amount of the rent charged to a tenant annually.

Published by


Sandy Adams President, Co-Founder Rental Housing Network, Inc. Broker/Owner, Sandy Adams Properties Sandy Adams is President and Co-Founder of Rental Housing Network, Inc and Owner of Sandy Adams Properties. She started her real estate career in 1978. After obtaining her broker’s license in 1985, she began specializing in residential property management. Sandy has served on numerous boards and committees for NARPM (National Association of Residential Property Managers) and CAA (California Apartment Association), as well as serving two full terms on the San Jose Advisory Commission on Rents. She has also taught several landlord workshops for small investment groups and Realtors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.